Sociology: Library Resources
Recommended Resources
- Civil Rights and Social Justice
Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles*, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
- Diversity & Ethnic Studies Ebook Collection
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.
- Gender Studies (Gale) This link opens in a new windowGender Studies Collection provides coverage on topics such as gender studies, family and marital studies.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 560 full text publications. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983--nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
E Books
- eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis growing package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Select eBooks from the top menu bar to search this collection.
Video Resources
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Search for content such as plays, documentaries, feature films, and newsreels.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.
Library Hours
Writing Help - Learning Center
The Learning Center provides tutoring to student writers in all courses and at any stage of the writing process. Individualized help is available by appointment, drop-in, or e-mail. Writing help is conveniently located in the Library/Learning Center on the Spencer Hill campus, and Room U111 at the Elmira Center.
