History: Library Resources
Recommended Resources
- Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- U.S. History (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFrom novice historians to academic researchers, this database offers balanced coverage of U.S. history, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
- World History (Gale) This link opens in a new windowThe database provides information on world history and scholarly work in the field.
Selections from our Collection
The Rise of the Global Middle Class
The middle class is the most successful group in world history. Sometime before 2030 the fifth billionth person will join the middle class. What started a little over two hundred years ago as a search for a better life has fueled unprecedented global transformation. In his new book Homi Kharas looks at how this powerful dream captivated generations through history, but its demands have led younger generations to ask if it is all worth it.
Guns Germs and Steel
"Fascinating.... Lays a foundation for understanding human history."--Bill Gates Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Guns, Germs, and Steel is a brilliant work answering the question of why the peoples of certain continents succeeded in invading other continents and conquering or displacing their peoples.
The Time Traveler's Guide to Regency Britain
A vivid and immersive history of Georgian England that gives its reader a firsthand experience of life as it was truly lived during the era of Jane Austen, Percy Bysshe Shelley, and the Duke of Wellington. This is the age of Jane Austen and the Romantic poets.
Grunt
Grunt tackles the science behind some of a soldier's most challenging adversaries--panic, exhaustion, heat, noise--and introduces us to the scientists who seek to conquer them.
The Landscape of History
What is history and why should we study it? Is there such a thing as historical truth? Is history a science? One of the most accomplished historians at work today, John Lewis Gaddis, answers these and other questions in this short, witty, and humane book. The Landscape of History provides a searching look at the historian's craft, as well as a strong argument for why a historical consciousness should matter to us today.
History on Trial
A great national controversy over the setting of voluntary standards for the teaching of history in our elementary and high schools erupted in 1994, opening up a new front in the nation's culture wars.
The Smell of Battle, the Taste of Siege
Historical accounts of major events have almost always relied upon what those who were there witnessed. Nowhere is this truer than in the nerve-shattering chaos of warfare, where sight seems to confer objective truth and acts as the basis of reconstruction. In The Smell of Battle, the Taste of Siege, historian Mark M. Smith considers how all five senses, including sight, shaped the experience of the Civil War and thus its memory, exploring its full sensory impact on everyone from the soldiers on the field to the civilians waiting at home.
American Women
This important publication is designed to introduce researchers to the opportunities for discovering American women's history and culture at the library of Congress.
The Ghost Map
A thrilling account of the worst cholera outbreak in Victorian London and a brilliant exploration of how Dr John Snow's solution revolutionised the way people think about disease, cities, science and the modern world.
How the World Made the West: A 4,000 Year History
In How the World Made the West, Oxford historian and classicist Josephine Quinn poses perhaps the most significant challenge ever to the "civilizational" thinking regarding the origins of Western culture and thought-that is, the idea that civilizations arose separately and distinctly from one another. Upending two centuries of conventional historiography and troubling the waters of our Western origin story, she locates the roots of the West in everything from literature from Sumeria, the law codes of Babylon, metallurgy from the Hittites, to sculpture from Egypt, irrigation from Assyria, and the art of navigation and the alphabet from Phoenicia, to name just a few examples.
Super Slick: Life and Death in a Huey Helicopter in Vietnam
Tom Feigel's memoir recounts the thick and thin of helicopter combat in Vietnam. Heart-pumping missions into hot landing zones and much more. It was dangerous and thrilling. The crews loved it and hated it. They were proud of it. And they never wanted to do it again. Super Slick is close as you can get to being inside a Huey.
Video Resources
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Search for content such as plays, documentaries, feature films, and newsreels.
Ebooks
- eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis growing package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Select eBooks from the top menu bar to search this collection.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.
Library Hours
Writing Help - Learning Center
The Learning Center provides tutoring to student writers in all courses and at any stage of the writing process. Individualized help is available by appointment, drop-in, or e-mail. Writing help is conveniently located in the Library/Learning Center on the Spencer Hill campus, and Room U111 at the Elmira Center.
