ENGL 1020: Library Resources
Course Description
Essay writing course designed to advance critical, analytical, and writing abilities begun in ENGL 1010. Literary analysis essays and interpretation of works of fiction, poetry, and drama.
What is Literary Criticism?
Literary criticism is much more than a book report! It involves the study, evaluation, and interpretation of a written work, and may require you to draw a conclusion about the meaning of a story. Knowing about the author's life and the historical context in which a piece was written can help, as well as reading interpretations already written by other literary scholars. You should then support your conclusion using background material, and be sure to include your interpretation of relevant passages from the original work.
Where can I find articles?
You have access to resources through the Library that the general public doesn't. Databases are powerful tools that make hundreds of thousands of journal and newspaper articles searchable with the click of a button. Each database contains a unique set of resources. This research guide can help you understand which database is right for you. For tips and tricks on how to search the databases, schedule an appointment with a librarian. We'd love to help.
Recommended Databases
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of issues in the news, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
E Books
- eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis growing package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Select eBooks from the top menu bar to search this collection.
Journal Locator
While you can do a Google Search to find the websites of specific publications, you may come across paywalls or have limited access to that publication's content.
Use the Journal Search to find out if we have access to that publication either in print or online, which database has that particular publication if it's available electronically, and dates of coverage. Search by the title of the publication.
Note: Print versions of Current Periodicals are not available for checkout and must be read in the library.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.