Skip to main content

ENGL 1010

ENGL 1010 Basic Research

Welcome to the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library Subject Guide for English 1010.  This guide is designed to help you find appropriate sources for your position paper/capstone project.  You may also find it useful as a refresher when doing research in other classes -- many of the principles are the same!

ENGL1010 OER Texbook

Library Catalog Search

Electronic Books - EBSCOhost eBooks Academic Collection

You can search and read academic titles in our electronic book database - eBooks Academic Collection.

Enter your search term:

Reference Materials

What are reference books?
Reference books are a great place to get a broad overview of a topic or concept. From traditional encyclopedias and dictionaries to subject-specific materials, our library has many resources to help you.  Below is a list of reference tools available in electronic format.

Delivery of Books to Elmira Center

We provide delivery service of books to the Elmira Academic and Workforce Development Center (Welcome Desk) in Elmira. These include items in our collection and items we borrow from other libraries for you.

Create ILLiad account

In order to request an item, you need to create an ILLiad Account  by going to First Time User Registration if you have not already created one.

Choose your delivery location when you fill out this form. The two locations that books are delivered to are the SUNY CCC Library on Spencer Hill or the Elmira Academic and Workforce Development Center in Elmira.

Once your delivery location has been selected, all items you request will be delivered to this location only. If you need to change locations in the future, use the Change User Information link within your ILLiad account.

Request a Book

Books can be requested from the SUNY CCC library or from Interlibrary Loan.  The procedure is the same for either option.

  • Start your search in WorldCat.
  • Enter your search terms.
  • Locate book and click on the title of book.
  • Click on the "Request from another library" link
  • Log into your ILLiad account (or Create one if you have not done so)
  • Submit your request.
  • We will notify you when the book is delivered to the Elmira Center.
  • You will need your SUNY CCC ID Card to pick up your items.

Other Libraries

STARCat logo

SuperSearch

 

Where can I find articles?

Articles can be found in databases to which the library subscribes.  Databases are powerful tools that make hundreds of thousands of journal and newspaper articles searchable with the click of a button!

We categorize our databases as either "General," which contain materials on a broad spectrum of topics, or "Subject Specific," where you will find specializations such as science, nursing, or education.  For your ENGL 1010 research, it is best to start with the General databases, or the SuperSearch.

The Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library's "SuperSearch" is a powerful tool that searches across most of our databases and our library catalog.   You can use the SuperSearch box below, or on the Library's webpage in MyCCC.

General Databases

Current Issues

If you are researching a controversial topic or current issue for a position paper, the following databases can help.

Journal Locator

Search Journal Locator for a journal, newspaper or magazine title.

The Journal Locator provides information on journals, newspapers, magazines, and all other periodicals currently available through the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library for the faculty, staff and students of SUNY Corning Community College.

Government Information

Click USA.gov icon to begin your search!

USA.gov logo

Critically Evaluating Websites

To learn more about how to evaluate information that you find on the web, use these guides:

WikiThoughts...

I won't lie -- librarians use Wikipedia.  And Wikipedia CAN be a great place to start for background information.  Some articles have valuable bibliographic links to outside sources, too.  That said, it is unwise to use Wikipedia as a source for any paper.  Information found there can be changed at any time by anyone, and there is no "quality control"! 

To see how frequently changes and additions are made to Wikipedia, click here
This page shows just some of the topics that are being edited anonymously on Wikipedia, and where the editor is located.  Think about what you DON'T know -- who is the editor?  Are they an expert on the topic they are editting?  What change did they make?

ENGL 1010/0999 - Bullying

Connie Kirk's ENGL1010