Education: Library Resources
Recommended Databases
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowEducation Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Elementary This link opens in a new windowContains over 100 age-appropriate magazines for grades K-5. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Ebooks
Video Resources
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Search for content such as plays, documentaries, feature films, and newsreels.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.
Library Hours
Writing Help - Learning Center
The Learning Center provides tutoring to student writers in all courses and at any stage of the writing process. Individualized help is available by appointment, drop-in, or e-mail. Writing help is conveniently located in the Library/Learning Center on the Spencer Hill campus, and Room U111 at the Elmira Center.
