Archives: About the College Archives

The Archives at SUNY Corning Community College is responsible for the collection and preservation of documents and other materials which reflect the College’s administrative and social history. The Archives maintains official and unofficial documents on the activities and achievements of the college trustees, faculty, staff, students and alumni. The decision to permanently retain specific records is the responsibility of the College Regional Board of Trustees and administrators in consultation with the College Archivist.

In carrying out its mission, the SUNY Corning Community College Archives will:

• Appraise, collect, organize, describe, preserve and make available records of historical value
• Provide an adequate facility for the retention and preservation of historical records
• Serve as a resource center and provide information services for the study of SUNY Corning Community College history
• Promote the knowledge and understanding of the origins, programs, and goals of the College

Archives welcomes donations from all potential donors. The Archivist retains the right to refuse certain gifts for any of the following reasons: duplication, lack of space, inability to technically or financially care for an item or inappropriateness to the collection. The College will be considered sole owner of any material in the Archives Collection and will share all materials, with appropriate regulations, with the College community. The Archivist reserves the right to dispose of any materials in accordance with accepted archival and professional standards.

Almost every office or department on campus produces records of historical significance, defined as any record that documents the decision-making process, sets or makes policy, or provides evidence of a major activity. Think about what records 'tell the story' of your office or department.

The following list is not inclusive. If you have records that you think should be preserved permanently, please contact us at archives@corning-cc.edu.

Prominent types of records collected for permanent retention include:

• Subject Files, otherwise known as office files, departmental files or program files, to include:
  • Correspondence 
  • Memorandum
  • Reports
  • Publications
  • Announcements
  • Photographs
  • Newspaper clippings
  • Audio-visual recording of events
  • Other material related to particular subjects, projects, or correspondence

• Meeting Minutes:
  • All minutes and associated material from student clubs, ad hoc, standing, departmental, and task force committees, as well as governance bodies. Minutes are a great resource to track discussions relating to reports, budgets program and curriculum planning, and other key aspects of campus life.

• Publications by administrative units, academic departments and student organizations, to include, but not limited to:
  • College catalogs
  • Programs from Commencement, stage productions, and others
  • Histories of the College
  • Internal College publications, such as The Crier and SCOP
  • Newsletters and newspapers
  • Leaflets, brochures, and booklets
  • Posters
  • Press releases and other promotional material

• Publications by College faculty and staff which relate to professional or educational activities
• Photographic prints, slides and negatives

Items that are of immediate value only should not be sent. Non records may share some characteristics with administrative records but are distinguished from them by their transitory usefulness. These records should be destroyed once their period of immediate usefulness has passed. Some examples of non records are:

• Envelopes
• Routing Slips
• Data entry and work sheets
• Rough Drafts
• Multiple copies of publications
• Blank Forms
• Unofficial copies of administrative records
• Records not produced by your unit (department, office...)

The SUNY Corning Community College Archives is located on the lower level of the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr Library.

Access is by appointment only. Please call 607.962.9253 or email archives@corning-cc.edu

• Library staff will provide guidance on the safe handling of archive and special collections materials. 
• Pens, markers, highlighters, and Post-It notes are not permitted when using materials. Pencils must be used for taking any notes. Scrap paper is available.
• No food or beverages are permitted around the collection material.
• All materials must be used in-house with staff supervision. 
• Please handle materials with care. All items in the collection are of special significance to the SUNY CCC community and cannot be replaced.
• We encourage you to use non-flash photography to make copies of archives and special collections materials for personal reference. If you need digitized copies, please ask library staff for assistance.