Skip to main content

Social Sciences

Psychology

Psychology, defined broadly, is the study of individual behavior. Individual can refer to a human or an animal, and behavior can encompass anything an individual does, thinks, or feels. Because there are so many things that individuals do, think, and feel, psychology is divided into many subareas that each study a different aspect of individual behavior. For example, some psychologists study how individual behavior is affected by those with whom the individual interacts, others investigate how the brain works to produce thoughts and feelings, and still others study the causes of feeling and thought disorders such as depression and schizophrenia.

from Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (Vol. 3. ) via Gale Virtual Reference Library

Sociology

Sociology is the scientific study of human social behavior. As the study of humans in their collective aspect, sociology is concerned with all group activities—economic, social, political, and religious. Sociologists study such areas as bureaucracy, community, deviant behavior, family, public opinion, social change, social mobility, social stratification, and such specific problems as crime, divorce, child abuse, and substance addiction. Sociology tries to determine the laws governing human behavior in social contexts.

from The Columbia Encyclopedia, via Credo Reference

Recommended Databases in Sociology

Recommended Databases in Psychology

Interdisciplinary Databases

Journal Locator

Search Journal Locator for a journal, newspaper or magazine title.

The Journal Locator provides information on journals, newspapers, magazines, and all other periodicals currently available through the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library for the faculty, staff and students of SUNY Corning Community College.

Library Catalog Search

Electronic Books - EBSCOhost eBooks Academic Collection

You can search and read academic titles in our electronic book database - eBooks Academic Collection.

Enter your search term:

Other Libraries

STARCat logo

Reference - Electronic

Interdisciplinary Electronic Reference

Organizations/Associations

Suggested Websites

Blogs