World Languages: Home
"A different language is a different vision of life." --Federico Fellini, Italian film director
"No culture can live, if it attempts to be exclusive." --Mohandas K. Gandhi, Indian nationalist and spiritual leader
Database Tip
Many databases allow you to choose the language of the articles you wish to retrieve. Look under the databases's advanced search options for the language limiter.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Journal Locator
While you can do a Google Search to find the websites of specific publications, you may come across paywalls or have limited access to that publication's content.
Use the Journal Search to find out if we have access to that publication either in print or online, which database has that particular publication if it's available electronically, and dates of coverage. Search by the title of the publication.
Note: Print versions of Current Periodicals are not available for checkout and must be read in the library.
E Books
- eBooks Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowThis growing package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Select eBooks from the top menu bar to search this collection.
Outside Resources
WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box. If you find a resource on WorldCat.org that you need for your research, library staff can help you request most items through Interlibrary Loan.
If you are looking for popular fiction, children's materials, or other items not found in the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library, try searching the public library catalog. The Southern Tier Library System Catalog contains the holdings of 48 local public libraries in Allegany, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben and Yates counties in upstate New York.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Reference - Electronic
- eBooks: LanguageBrowse electronic books on the subject of Language.
Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online delivers over 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Search for content such as plays, documentaries, feature films, and newsreels.
Organizations/Associations
- American Council on the Teaching of Foreign LanguagesThe American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL) is the only national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction.
- National Council of Less Commonly Taught LanguagesAn organization that represents the less commonly taught languages (LCTLs) in the United States.
Suggested Websites
- multilingualbooks.com - Language Bookstore - Multilingual Books Language and ESL Books, Courses, SoftwareInvestigate this site - it is more than a bookstore - Look for links to foreign language internet tv, online radio, rss feeds, newspapers, etc.
- AJE - Al Jazeera EnglishAn Arab news source in English.
- AJ - Al Jazeera (Arabic)An Arab news source in Arabic.
- Democracy NOW! (Spanish)A daily TV/radio news program, hosted by Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez.
Government Information
USA.gov is a wealth of information from U.S. Government Services. Click on the link below for information about:
- Government Agencies and Elected Officials
- Benefits, Grants, and Loans
- COVID-19
- Disability Services
- Education
- Military and Veterans
- Money and Taxes
- Small Business
- Consumer Issues
Blogs
- The Everyday Language LearnerThe Everyday Language Learner is about helping regular people learn another language. It’s about empowering and educating and giving you the tools that will lead to success.
- RussificateA free Russian language and culture blog, created by a professional Russian teacher and native speaker. Russian grammar exercises, vocabulary, culture, podcasts and...living Russian lessons via Skype.
- Hacking ChineseThis website is dedicated to unveiling the mysteries of learning a language in general and about learning Chinese in particular.
- Blog de Español[Blog de Español] would like to present you with everything we have learned in order to create a platform of ideas, which resolves communicative difficulties for those who study Spanish. From questions pertaining to living in Spain to others about relating to Spaniards and their culture, we would like to be your guide.
- French Video Audio LessonsA basic guide to French.
- Living Language: GermanLiving Language makes use of all the tools that adults have at their disposal to learn efficiently and effectively, without clumsy guesswork or frustration, in order to really learn how to speak a new language.
- Living Language: ItalianLiving Language makes use of all the tools that adults have at their disposal to learn efficiently and effectively, without clumsy guesswork or frustration, in order to really learn how to speak a new language.
- The Arabic StudentThe Arabic Student uses media and pop culture items to teach the Arabic language.
- My ASL JourneyA blog which records events in "Deaf Culture."
- ASL DeafinedAn interactive website for anyone to learn American Sign Language. This site was developed to help deaf students improve their English grammar; for parents to improve their sign language skills; and for the community at large to learn to sign.
Popular Magazines in Other Languages
- ELLEThe Magazine ELLE in French.
- PeopleEnEspanolPeople in Spanish: El sitio #1 de celebridades para latinos con las mejores noticias, chismes, fotos y moda de los famosos
Foreign Language Podcasts
Foreign Language Radio
- Spanish Internet Radio: MexicoListen to Spanish online radio news and information and practice your Spanish!
- Spanish Internet Radio: SpainListen to Spanish online radio news and information and practice your Spanish!
- French Internet RadioListen to French online radio news and information and practice your French!
- German Internet RadioListen to German online radio news and information and practice your German!
- Italian Internet RadioListen to Italian online radio news and information and practice your Italian!
- Foreign Internet Radio - Other LanguagesListen to foreign online radio news and information and practice a foreign language!
Foreign Language TV
- Spanish Internet TelevisionWatch Spanish online television and video and practice your Spanish!
- French Internet TelevisionWatch French online television and video and practice your French!
- German Internet TelevisionWatch German online television and video and practice your German!
- Italian Internet TelevisionWatch Italian online television and video and practice your Italian!
- Foreign Internet Television - Other LanguagesListen to foreign online television and video and practice a foreign language!
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.