Course Reserves: About

The Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Library is committed to assisting students in lowering their textbook costs. The library maintains many physical versions of current textbooks. In an effort to make these materials accessible to more students, they are available for short-term (usually 2-hour) loans. This is an ongoing effort and we welcome faculty and staff input, suggestions, and donations.

To search our course reserves collections, enter the course code into our Super Search or stop by the library services desk to ask library staff.

Instructors, if you have questions or want to request a specific book, please reach out to us: library@corning-cc.edu. If you have course materials you'd like to donate to the reserve collections, stop by the library or fill out our Course Reserve Form.

How do I find out if the library has the textbook I need on reserve?

You'll need to know your course number to search the course reserve collection. Using our Super Search you can easily figure out if the book you need is on our shelves.

How can I borrow a textbook from the reserves collection?

SUNY Corning Community College students, faculty, and staff may borrow textbooks from the reserves collection using their college ID. Staff at the Circulation Desk can retrieve the book for you. You will need to know the course number and title of the book.

If the book is available as an eBook you will find the link on the lists above or by using Super Search. If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your MYCorning credentials.

How long can I borrow a textbook from the reserves collection?

Physical textbooks are available for a loan period of two hours at a time. Physical textbooks may not leave the building. E-Book loan periods vary but usually require you to log back in to keep using them.

What if I need a reserved textbook for longer than the loan period?

If you need the book for a longer period, visit the circulation desk to request an extension. If no other student is waiting for the book, your loan may be extended. If you fail to return the book at the end of your loan period, your ability to borrow additional library materials will be blocked until the book is returned.

How can I request the library purchase my textbook for the reserves collection?

To make a request to add a book to the collection please contact us at library@corning-cc.edu. Keep in mind that the library selects books for purchase based on factors such as course enrollment, availability, and cost.

Can I donate my textbook to the library?

Yes! The library welcomes textbook donations. If you'd like to donate a textbook, please drop it off at the circulation desk. Donated textbooks become the property of the Arthur A. Houghton Jr. Library. Thank you!