First Year Experience (FYEX): Library Resources
Program Information
The First Year Experience program, or FYEX, is designed to facilitate the intellectual and social integration of first-year students into the academic community. It provides specific methods and strategies which students may adopt to promote personal growth and success both in the college environment and throughout life.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowContains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,800 peer-reviewed journals
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
Journal Locator
While you can do a Google Search to find the websites of specific publications, you may come across paywalls or have limited access to that publication's content.
Use the Journal Search to find out if we have access to that publication either in print or online, which database has that particular publication if it's available electronically, and dates of coverage. Search by the title of the publication.
Note: Print versions of Current Periodicals are not available for checkout and must be read in the library.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.
Library Hours
Writing Help - Learning Commons
The Learning Commons provides tutoring to student writers in all courses and at any stage of the writing process. Individualized help is available by appointment, drop-in, or e-mail. Writing help is conveniently located in the Library/Learning Commons on the Spencer Hill campus, and Room U111 at the Elmira Center.
