- SUNY Corning Community College
- Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library LibGuides
- English
- Public Access Resources
English: Public Access Resources
Suggested Websites
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks
Outside Resources
WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box. If you find a resource on WorldCat.org that you need for your research, library staff can help you request most items through Interlibrary Loan.
If you are looking for popular fiction, children's materials, or other items not found in the Arthur A. Houghton, Jr. Library, try searching the public library catalog. The Southern Tier Library System Catalog contains the holdings of 48 local public libraries in Allegany, Chemung, Schuyler, Steuben and Yates counties in upstate New York.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.
Library Hours
Writing Help - Learning Commons
The Learning Commons provides tutoring to student writers in all courses and at any stage of the writing process. Individualized help is available by appointment, drop-in, or e-mail. Writing help is conveniently located in the Library/Learning Commons on the Spencer Hill campus, and Room U111 at the Elmira Center.
