ENGL 1010: Library Resources
Gathering Background Information
I won't lie -- librarians use Wikipedia. Wikipedia CAN be a great place to start for background information. Some articles have valuable bibliographic links to outside sources, too. That said, it is unwise to use Wikipedia as a source for any paper. Information found there can be changed at any time by anyone, and there is no editorial control!
Our library offers access to the online encyclopedia, Britannica Academic that can help you gather background information. Reviewing an encyclopedia article can be a great way to begin your research and this tool is considered an scholarly resource you can reference in your work.
- Britannica Academic
The rich combination of the Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough collegiate research.
Current Issues & Topics
If you are researching a controversial topic or current issue for a position paper, the following databases can help:
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis of issues in the news, including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center is a full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
ENGL1010 OER Texbook
Ask A Librarian
We a can help you learn how to use the library's online resources to get started with your research, locate books, or answer other general questions. Contact a librarian by
email: library@corning-cc.edu
phone: 607-962-9251
or schedule an appointment.